The Only Poem I Know By Heart

Emily Dickinson is one of my favorite poets and “I’m Nobody! Who are You?” is one of my most favorite poems which I know by heart. I haven’t ever bought a book of poetry although I do enjoy reading poetry.  Mostly I read them online or through snippets shared on social media. However, Emily Dickinson is the only poet whose book  I signed up for through DailyLit. DailyLit is a website that divides the book you want to read into easily readable installemnts which can then be configured to be delivered to you through your RSS feed or email inbox. The best thing about her poems is that they are so easy to understand, there are no abstract metaphors to confuse one into obtaining multiple interpretations. Plus the idea and concepts conveyed in her poems are so relatable that despite being written in the eighteenth century her poems are as applicable to the modern era as if they were written in contemporary times. So in this post I have decided to share with you the poem that got me hooked to Emily Dickinson:

 

I’m Nobody! Who are You?
by
Emily Dickinson

I’m nobody! Who are you?
Are you nobody, too?
Then there’s a pair of us -don’t tell!
They’d banish us, you know.

How dreary to be somebody!
How public, like a frog
To tell your name the livelong day
To an admiring bog!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Like what I write?

Follow me:
Facebook: Raiya Writes
Twitter: @raiyatweets

Hire Me: Raiya Hashmi (Freelance Journalist, Editor and Creative Writer)

Leave a Reply

